A visceral mash-up  of rock, jazz and dance music

Sat 28 February, 8pm


Support from Yesa Sikyi
In association with Lancaster Jazz Festival

Troyka are Chris Montague (guitars and loops), Joshua Blackmore (drums) and Kit Downes (organ), three young musicians based in London whose intense live shows have seen them hotly tipped to follow in the footsteps of Polar Bear and Portico Quartet and become the next young band to explode from the capital’s fertile jazz scene. A multitextured trio with a febrile imagination where no role is pre-defined, their music twists and mutates in an ongoing dialogue inspired by a shared love of Aphex Twin, the angular world of iconclastic New York saxophonist Tim Berne and the blues-jazz-rock groove of legendary Steely Dan and Billy Cobham guitarist Wayne Krantz.

With their visceral mash-up of rock, jazz and dance music, Trokya sound more like Tony William’s Lifetime remix by Burial than the classic hammond organ trio. But then that’s the point, they’re part of a new generation of young musicians who refuse to be constrained by the old boundaries. To whom the old question of ‘what is it’ are replaced by is it any good? Who live in a post hip-hop world where you can take whatever source materials you like and do your own singular thing with it. In 2009 Troyka were featured on Micachus mixtape 'filthy friends' and their debut release was included in Jazzwise magazine's top ten albums of the year list. In June 2012 to coincide with their 2nd release 'Moxxy', Troyka appeared on the front cover of Jazzwise magazine and were named by Timeout magazine as one of the top 10 live acts in London alongside Plan B, Zun Zun, The XX and Hotchip.

Highly impressed with Troyka's music, composer Django Bates was commissioned by Cheltenham Jazz festival in May 2011 to write a set of music to be performed and broadcast for BBC Jazz on 3. He chose to put Troyka at the heart of this writing process, highly inspired by the trio's use of rhythm and texture. In October 2012 the band were included in the Jazz FM award nominations for 2 categories (cutting edge jazz innovation and best UK jazz act).

Praise for Troyka

  • "Like King Crimson for the iPod Generation” Time Out
  • "Simply bursting with intelligence and wit” Jazzwise
  • "Three of the most important young British jazz musicians we have in this country…they seem to be able to create these extraordinary atmosphere’s within their improvisation.” Jamie Cullum
  • "Music sounding both deep-rooted and as modern as the moment – spikily abstract at times, gracefully lyrical or traditionally rock-bluesy at others.” Guardian ****
  • "A unique trio that rises to the top of the UK scene." BBC Music Review

Off Stage with Troyka

Take part in a creative music workshop with the members of Troyka on Sunday 1 March, find out more and book your place at


Yesa Sikyi are a new six piece jazz band based in London. Yesa Sikyi (yessa seechee) came together on the jazz course at Trinity College of Music in London. Having recently released their debut EP 'Out Of Earshot' the group are gaining a increasing following in London and beyond for their repertoire of beautiful arrangements of classic standards and original tunes.

Booking Information

Tickets are available for the reduced rate of £10 (£7 concessions) in advance. On the night, tickets will cost £12 (£8 concessions).
You can buy tickets in advance in three ways:
  1. Click on Book below to buy online via our official ticket agents Brewery Arts Centre. Online tickets will add a booking fee of £1.50 per transaction.
  2. Call 01524 831 997 to buy over the phone. There is a booking fee of 50p per transaction for card purchases.
  3. You can buy tickets in person from our venue the Hothouse and from Morecambe Visitor Information Centre in the Platform.



(£7 concessions)